Green

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I have a HUD in my game that I am working on and I am an amateur at javascript (I really don't know what I'm doing). I have made a decent and functional HUD.

The way that I made my HUD is such that there is a window on which I draw the contents of my HUD and then I hide the window skin, leaving the elements I desire. Obviously, this is built on Window_Base and Scene_Map (from Soul's tutorial).

The problem with this is that I am unable to see any message windows that open, my HUD has priority to these windows in rendering. How can I make sure that my HUD is on the bottom layer of the Scene_Map?

Thanks.

EDIT: Just to clarify, the HUD is sized to take up the entire display.

Last edited by a moderator:

Green

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Bump

I noticed that the menu can overlap the HUD and I believe, based on the code, that this is on a different scene. I drew my HUD onto the Scene_Map directly and I think that message windows do the same thing, which is why the message window is invisible. So, my hypothesis is that I need to separate the HUD into its own Scene and have this render on the bottom. Unfortunately, I don't completely understand the code when I look at it and I don't know what I'm supposed to do to change this.

Could someone point me to where in the code the Scenes are actually executed? I took a look at SceneManager, but I couldn't really distinguish where this was.

Green

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
UPDATE: So, by more clearly defining the shape of the UI and creating multiple windows with small boundaries, I have managed to fit the message box in by resizing it, but it still would be much easier if I could somehow have given priority of display to one of the windows on Scene_Map.

Engr. Adiktuzmiko

Chemical Engineer, Game Developer, Using BlinkBoy'
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Tagalog
Primarily Uses