How do you make your game feel unique?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Frogboy, May 9, 2016.

1. Frogboy

Frogboy I'm not weak to fire Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    The best thing about having a fully developed RPG game engine at your fingertips is probably simultaneously the worst thing. Many, if not most, RPG Maker games feel the same or very similar. I'm sure you all already know this. I just want to discuss, in general or specific, what you focus on the most in order to make something that doesn't feel like "just another RPG Maker game"?

As for me, since I'm just starting out with the product, I'm falling back on something that I already know: scripting. I'm hoping that some custom gameplay mechanics that you won't find any other game will give me the opportunity to make something that feels different enough to be interesting even if the graphics and music are ones everyone here has seen and heard before.

So what's your focus to make a game feel fresh?

2. Bonkers

Bonkers Bioware, do you need a nap? Restaff

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Definitely the characters and the way they interact.  All character in fantasy games are human, and in every RPG maker game that still holds true.  Thankfully in MV they gave us a golem, a robot, and a werewolf ninja.  A fantasy game without fantasy races is just sub-par to me.  I even went as far to make a host more for variety.

Since behaviors are entirely limited to a sheet, people tend to stop there.  When they see a character react in a way more than a speech bubble animation it gives the character a huge leap in personality.  Having them stand there while talking until dialogue runs out is a big mistake.  Looking back at even the first few FFs you'll see their characters moved around and had head nodding as well as little posing quirks.