How Do You Start Making A Game?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by Sennie, Oct 15, 2014.

1. Sennie

Sennie Demon Slayer Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Hi,

It's my first time creating a game and to be honest I don't actually know where to start too. What do I do first, mapping, story-line planning, etc. I know this sounds really stupid, but it is my first game and I'm hoping you might be able to help me :)

Thanks.

Miffy6000.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 15, 2014
  2. Saltwater Croc

Saltwater Croc Voice Actor/Frelance Composer Veteran

First Language:
    Hylian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Outline. Always outline first. You can't create a game if there's no story. A game is really just an interactive story.  Once you have a good outline you can flesh out your storyline.

It may or may not be glamorous, but it is an essential role in the development of a GOOD game. One that will be remembered. You can worry about all the flashy scripts, maps, and other shinies later. A good outline usually means a good game.

Hope this helps!

3. cabfe

cabfe Cool Cat Veteran

First Language:
    French
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Actually, there are already some topics about that.

Like this one. You'll likely find some interesting advices there.

4. Shinma

Shinma Lurker Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
  5. Sennie

First Language:
    English

Shinma likes this.
  6. Oriceles

Oriceles 0 + a.atk * 4 - b.def * 2 Veteran

First Language:
    Spanish
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Shinma and Sennie like this.
  7. Sennie

First Language:
    English
    Hey,

Thanks I'll be sure to check them out. Thanks for the link as well :)

GrandmaDeb likes this.
  8. Alexander Amnell

Alexander Amnell Jaded Optimist Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A