AGiant

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
english, german
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hey people,

If I'm wrong here with this and you have some tag sugestions, I would be happy about a heads up :)

I'm pretty new to all of this and I had some questions about licenses. I have a few scenarios I'm thinking about
S1: I deployed a game and want to sell licenses to play it.
S2: I'm developing a game alone and want to be the only one developing but anybody could be able to play the game for free.
S3: S2 but I want to give the rights to develop it to someon else.
S3: S2 but I want to make it an open source
S4: I want to make it an open source project with me as the main developer/owner
S5: A game moves from someone else to someon else to someone else to me.

Are these possible and if yes how?

Thanks beforehand.

gothicvoid

[GothicVoid]
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
S3:S2 is what im in right now.

ATT_Turan

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
I'm not really sure what you're asking...you ask if these scenarios are "possible" - why wouldn't they be? You make a game, you do whatever you want with it. Are you asking about how to implement the distribution, or how to actually word the license you use?

S1 is worded quite oddly to me. That's just your standard "make a game and sell it" - when you finish the game, stick it on Steam or itch.io or GOG or whatever.

S2 is the same, you just set a price of 0. Or stick it on Dropbox or Megaupload or Google Drive or whatever and distribute the link.

S3 you just send the project folder to the other person. You should probably also send them an e-mail explicitly saying they can develop it just so they feel comfortable you can't try to do backsies later.

S3 version 2 you stick the contents of your project undeployed and unencrypted into a file sharing site.

S4 is the same just organizational?

S5 I don't know what that means.