How much does it usually cost for an exclusive music?

SomaelCK

Lv 99 Simple Sheep
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Burmese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I have been thinking about commissioning for an exclusive opening theme song, about 1:30 mins long . How much will it cost, generally?

Many thanks in advance :)

iMaple

Noob Designer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Heidelbergian?
Primarily Uses
I doubt that you'd find many people who would do that for 50-60, considering you want an exclusive license. It's also important wheter you want to use it for commercial purposes.

Tokumei No

Kojima Fan
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Italian
Primarily Uses
However, SomaelCK: what kind of music where you thinking about? I'm not a professional composer, but I would like to help :)

♥SOURCE♥

Too sexy for your party.
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
Depends entirely on the author of the music (how is the music produced, is it recorded? more people involved in it? author's experience, author's reputation, timeframe to produce the music, etc.).

If you have some composers in mind, ask them.

Archeia

Level 99 Demi-fiend
Staff member
Developer
Reaction score
First Language
Filipino
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Depends on the composer, one I know asks for $100/min (and he's so worth it). But it's usually $25-$60 from what I know of.

phoenix_rossy

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I have been thinking about commissioning for an exclusive opening theme song, about 1:30 mins long . How much will it cost, generally?

Many thanks in advance :)
I've been quoted anywhere between $50 - $450 for a piece that long. It depends on the composer and the complexity of the track. 

Usually, the additional cost is well worth it, but for me, I prefer to discover the undiscovered. I've built strong ties with my team, and their talents have improved along with my own :)

RadiantCadenza

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses