How to animate sprites in cut-scenes/autorun events?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by Jana, Mar 28, 2017.

1. Jana

Jana Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hi, I'm new to MV! And I was just wondering, is there a way I can animate my characters in more detail during cut-scenes? I know how to set characters' movement routes to make it look like their walking regularly with the dialogue and how to animate chests and doors, but I want to animate characters to show emotion or make them interact with each other physically (like a kiss or a hug). I remember playing Pokémon blue/red rescue team as a kid and the characters could make a face and change their bodies with surprise, and in one scene Lombre picked up a newspaper and read it.
    Thanks!
    EDIT: Art/Graphics are no problem, I just don't understand the process of displaying the frames.

Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  2. Andar

Andar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    you need to have the required graphics first - as soon as you have the pictures for that, you can use the different ways of animation to display them. But nothing can create emotions on faces or sprite movement, that requires a change in graphics.

Some of that can be done in the character generator and then saved as different faces, but somethings need to be done in an image program.

3. Jana

Jana Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Thank you for your reply! Yea, drawing is not the issue though, I can make the graphics ezpz. I don't understand the actual process of animation i.e. how to put them together during a cut scene. If you know how to display them, could you walk me through it? I found a girl online say she was going to make a tutorial on it, but that video was posted like a year ago. The event was like three pages long.