How to change sprite (player) collision?

Kurtkakes

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Arabic
Primarily Uses
Other
i cant find out how to change collison of a character

ive searched with as many different words i could describing it, all it shows up is EVENT hitbox which i dont want

ill explain what i need help with

so for example default character sprite's collison is 1x1 tiles
but when I make the sprite taller (to 2x1 tiles) it's head will collide with the wall, i want only the bottom half of the character to collide with the wall
I want to make the collision box 1x1 tiles not 2x1 tiles
im a complete beginner and I would love it if it was explained simply

caethyril

^_^
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
EN
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
:kaohi: Usually "collision" affects whether something can move or not, but by default all characters use 1 tile for collision. E.g. a character with a sprite that looks 2 tiles tall will only collide based on the 1 tile they are standing on. In other words, the size of the sprite is only a visual effect and does not affect game mechanics (unless you use a plugin to change that).

Maybe you are just bumping into an invisible wall or character? In the database (Tools > Database), on the Tilesets tab, with "Passability" selected, you can click tiles to change their passability. Tiles marked O will allow movement; tiles marked X will block movement. Events set to Priority: Same as characters will also block movement.

Otherwise, it sounds like what you're actually talking about is tile priority, i.e. some tiles are being displayed on top of the player? One of the tile passability options for pages B~E is a star, which means the tile will not affect passability and will display on a layer above other tiles. This means if a tall character walks on the tile below a "star tile", the "star tile" will obscure the upper part of that character, like a roof. If you want to avoid that, maybe check out this plugin:

Kurtkakes

Veteran