How to check if a save file exists? Complete beginner.

CatFish21sm

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
So I'm just learning the basics of JS and I'm not sure at all how to do this. I've searched the forums but all of the answer's are over my head.
I'm trying to create a simple tutorial at the beginning of the game that explains how to save the game. It runs on a loop function and preforms an IF check to see if there is a save file. If there is a save file It breaks the loop shows some text flips a switch deletes the event and the game continues normally. Otherwise it loops the event until there is a save file present.
The player can not leave the map until they have saved the game. I've got everything working except checking to see if there is a save file. I know I will have to use the custom script option in the IF branch, but I dont know what script to use or how to check the variable. I know this is a obviously a beginner mistake but what I have now is
IF:Script: DataManager.isAnySavefileExists()==true
*Break loop
*(Other stuff)
End
*Repeat.

PS. I'm also planning to add an event that does the same thing but forcefully loads the top save file later on, if one exists. I'm going to go ahead and assume that I'm going to have issues with this, especially if the save file does not exist in slot 1 but another slot. If you would be so kind as to help me with this issue aswell I would greatly appreciate it. And thank you for your time!

Aerosys

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
german
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
The command to check if a Save File exists is this one
Code:
DataManager.isAnySavefileExists()
Paste it into the IF-Statement.