How to create a 2,5d movement system

Baigga

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello, I am pretty new to rpg maker so maybe what I'll ask is impossible to do, or even maybe it's really simple and can be done with eventing (but in this case I need some indications because I have absolutely no idea of how to do it). What I want is a kind of 2,5d movement system with only 2 ways sprites movement system. I mean that I want my character to move left, right, down and up, but when he moves down and up, his sprite is the left/right sprite, according to the direction he's facing. If that's not clear, here is a game (named : "Crawl") that uses exactly this movement system :

And if I am not wrong, with this kind of system, we can use 2d platformer sprite that have only two directions.
If someone can help me in any way, it would be super kind because I am kind of stuck for now.

Ps : Sorry for my grammar and all the mistakes I probably did, english isn't my mother's tongue so it's sometime kind of hard to explain such "technicals" things.

Wavelength

MSD Strong
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
So first of all, you won't be able to totally simulate "depth" because your characters will be the same size as they move "toward" (down) and "away from" (up) the camera, and they won't have any slight left/right movement onscreen (necessary to fully simulate depth-of-field) as the player holds up/down, either. You COULD do some fancy coding to get that in there (see this thread), but it would take a lot of work.

For a simpler implementation where all you're changing is which way the characters are facing (which I think would get the point across OK), I think what you'd want to do is modify this method in rpg_objects.js:

Code:
Game_CharacterBase.prototype.setDirection = function(d) {
    if (!this.isDirectionFixed() && d) {
        this._direction = d;
    }
    this.resetStopCount();
};