How to go about building

Discussion in 'JS Plugin Requests' started by MaGicBush, Aug 16, 2019.

1. MaGicBush

MaGicBush Game Creator Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    So for my game I am working on at some point I am planning to add a strategy type of layer to the game. Right now I have been working on the maps, as I finished most of my other systems and what plugins I will use. I am wanting to find what the best way would be to go about adding a mechanic where the player is allowed to upgrade their colony. So I need to be able to allow the user to go out and gather resources from quests, and from the world, and then be able to go back to the colony and plop down buildings. I think I will be able to just use the event system for this with some ingenuity, but I am not sure if it will require any plugin or scripting. I know some JS, but I am fairly new at it and so far I have only managed to edit other people's plugins to fit my games needs. I was wondering if anyone could help me come up with idea's on how to go about this using maybe the event system.

I also am wanting thoughts on how far I should take this. Should I go all out and allow the player to actually place the buildings? Or should I allow the player to simply "upgrade" buildings/fortifications and maybe change the image on the map with an event and keep it simple?

I plan to have the colony get attacked every so often, and the player must help defend it or leave people to defend it while they are off doing quests.

Thanks!

2. Lilly

Lilly Joy Bringer Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I like the idea to allow the player to place the buildings....Maybe like build and upgrade?
    After all both ideas are great.

MaGicBush likes this.
  3. Eraine

Eraine Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Dutch
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    MaGicBush likes this.
  4. MaGicBush

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV