Not open for further replies.

Drekex

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
So I made a 3 horizontal tile gate, but there are a few problems with it, though I'm still new to making games on RPG Maker MZ. I set up the gate so it appears after a cutscene plays out and its invisibility is turned off (handled inside the cutscene event), like a trap. However, when I interact with the event, it prevents passage, but the gate disappears during the text inside the Gate Event, most likely something to do with invisibility. As for passage left and right, I tried adding 2 events with Through OFF that show the same text as the central event with the Gate image. I'm guessing since it's an event without an image, it just can't have a collision maybe?

Looks something like this:

Characters before passing the gate

Left Gate Collision: Through ON
Central Gate with image: Through ON and invisibility ON
Right Gate Collision: Through ON

Characters after passing the gate

Left Gate Collision: Through OFF
Central Gate with image: Through OFF and invisibility OFF
Right Gate Collision: Through OFF

After you gain control of the Main Character and try to go through the central gate event, it shows texts, the gate disappears and reappears once the event is finished. You can walk on both sides as well since the Through OFF doesn't work.

So, how would I go trying to correct this?

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
The gate disappearing likely has nothing to do with the "invisibility being turned off" and more to do with what the spritesheet looks like.

Your barrier tiles, if they have no sprite, are probably set to Below Characters priority, which is why you can walk over them. Change it to Same as Characters and you won't be able to go through.