How to make a non-scripted lantern effect with on/off switch?

EcchiSamurai

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Kind of says it in the title. I have been searching Youtube for tutorials and can't seem to find one that actually helps without scripts. I keep my game tinted to keep the spook factor in my horror game. However, I want to add a lantern mid game and want to get the event set up for when I get to that point. I plan on making some rooms darker than others and the light would just help overall when players need it.

Also, I don't mean to ask a question within a question but... is there a way I can map the keyboard so the game has set controls or am I stuck with the default controls? I had no idea I could even see what buttons were mapped to where until recently and I've been using this program for at least 2 months!!

rekkatsu

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesia
Primarily Uses
RMXP
I found this on youtube with switch on/off

Reactions: Bex

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
is there a way I can map the keyboard so the game has set controls or am I stuck with the default controls?
yes and no
you can use scripts to override the controls, and there are scripts to enable the full keyboard.
The question is whether you should do this at all.

By default, the PLAYER can configure the keyboard - that is part of the F1 or F2 configuration options ingame.
And this configuration is done once for all games, which means if the player reconfigures in one game, the reconfiguration takes hold in all VXA games.
If you set a control configuration in your game, you will disable that player-based configuration.
And the problem with this is that different countries have different keyboard, so your fixed controls may make the game unplayable for some countries.