How to make a skill do more damage than the enemy's original ATK power.

Lapzil_Spider

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Now, I'm not new to RPG Maker entirely, but I am new to its Battle System (I never touched it, I would screw around with Map Creation and Dialogue), so I need some help on it.

Here's what the title means:
(This isn't exactly accurate, just an example):

Let's say the Player had 0 Defense, and the enemy had 25 attack.
The enemy attacks and does 25 damage. How would I make a skill with 50 ATK instead of the Enemy's 25 ATK?

I want an enemy's ATK power to be 25, but some of their skills have their own ATK than the enemy's original ATK power.

I assume this has something to do with the Formula, which I'm not good with at all.

Lunesis

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Just put a.atk * 2 - b.def in the formula for the skill.

Last edited:

Lapzil_Spider

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Just put a.atk * 2 - b.def in the formula for the skill.
Is that how it works?

I want a skill to have its own Specific ATK power and it cancels out the user's Atk power with its own.

caethyril

^_^
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
EN
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
  • a.atk will be replaced with the ATK value of the skill user.
  • b.def will be replaced with the DEF value of the target.
You can use other values, including fixed numbers like 50. You can also use other operations like add +, multiply *, etc. For more details, hover the cursor over the skill formula box to show its help tip.

Let's say your "normal" formula is this:
JavaScript:
a.atk * 4 - b.def * 2
To use a fixed value of 50 instead of the user's current ATK, simply replace a.atk with 50:
JavaScript:
50 * 4 - b.def * 2

If you want to design more complex formulae, you may find this thread helpful:
It's for RMMV, but I think RMMZ's damage formulas are handled identically.

Lapzil_Spider

Villager