NoPiessadface

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
how do i make a weapon that can damage or kill the user much like devil weapons from fire emblem

Trihan

Speedy Scripter
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Can you describe how the devil weapons from Fire Emblem work for the benefit of those who aren't familiar with them?

Tiamat-86

old jrpg gamer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMMV
this would probably require passive states and buff state core plugins.
weapon gives user a state, state has a custom confirm effect that checks if doing a physical attack before damages the user.
(im not good with this stuff so someone correct me if get syntax wrong)

<Custom Establish Effect>
if (this.isPhysical()) {
var heal = Math.floor(user.mhp * 0.1);
user.gainHp(-heal);
}
</Custom Establish Effect>

Can you describe how the devil weapons from Fire Emblem work for the benefit of those who aren't familiar with them?
weapons with higher base stats but hurt the user when they land a hit.

Last edited:

NoPiessadface

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
they can backfire damage to the user for ex. 10 hp dmg whenever they hit but they deal large damage

ATT_Turan

Forewarner of the Black Wind
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
You should be able to just do this inside the damage formula. If you want a 15% chance to deal 10 damage to the user, put:
Code:
if (Math.randomInt(100)<15) a.gainHp(-10);
then the rest of your damage formula.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
this would probably require passive states and buff state core plugins.
no, something as simple as affecting the user whenever the skill hits can be done completely without a plugin, just by damage code.
backfire damage to the user for ex. 10 hp dmg whenever they hit