How to make background an image?

ValerieBlood

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Im actually not sure where I was supposed to post this thread, so I picked the one I thought most relevent.
I'm new to the RPG Maker world and just bought MZ. I've spent the last few days learning and experimenting non stop.
My question is this: How do I make an image as the background that the character can walk on, but have invisible tiles that block off certain areas I dont want you to go over? I'm an artist and was thinking of drawing my backgrounds, my inspiration would be the pre-rendered background kinda set up that the original Final Fantasy 7&9 did.

I can upload an image from folder well enough, just dont know if there is an easy way to block off areas maybe, without that part being seen? I'm unsure if I'm even approaching the problem the most logical way either.

Any help at would be amazing! :)
Here is an example of what I mean with Nibelheim as an example. z2.png

@Shaz okay, so in this forum you must not press the "reply" button to respond to someone, rather, you edit your original post and "@" them? Okay and thanks. And dont see a delete comment button for my other comments, sorry for doing it wrong.

Last edited:

GBJackson

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Create a new tile sheet. Make one tile with a circle in it, to represent a passable tile. Next to it, make a tile with an X in i6t to represent a solid, impassable tile.

Below the tile with the circle and x, do not put any graphics at all. Leave them blank.

Go into the database, under tilesets and assign your new tileset to the B, C, D or E slot.

When viewing th tileset slot you placed it in, change the blank tiles we talked about to either passable or impassable.

The X or circle you drew in the first two tiles is merely a reference in the editor as to which of the empty tiles below them are solid or passible.