How to place multiple, separate events on one tile

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by Ichigoeater, May 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ichigoeater

Ichigoeater Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Hi, everyone.

I am VERY new to the RPG Maker game system, but have gone through tutorials for literal days. I've tried looking for an existing post to my problem, and it may be telling that it doesn't seem to exist. This may be a stupid question.

You see, in my game there is a point where there's a different item the player can investigate on three different sides of him (a painting to the north, toy to the east, and flower pot to the west). The character is right next to all of these things, on one tile. I know I could avoid trouble by just making the player have to search the item in one specific direction, but the gameplay doesn't feel as smooth that way. I could also move the items around a bit, but the setup I have has grown on me, and it's a small room. Besides, I'm sure this question will probably come up later, so I'd like to figure it out now. It may also be important to note that the toy already has a variable function, where the character says something different after first discovering it, and that the concluding dialogue still works from the side if I satisfied the variable from the front of the toy.

I've already tried a couple of things. I tried having multiple dialogue based on the direction the character is standing. I tried incorporating self switches and regular switches. I've even tried variables. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong that should be obvious? Please help me...

Sauteed_Onion likes this.
  2. mlogan

mlogan Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV