cloverskull

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
Hi

I am a n Illustrator and recently I have been commissioned to create a tile set for an upcoming video game.The client asked for a flat rate. Since I am new to the subject matter I am not sure how to price my work to ensure "fairness". Any input about the matter would be extremely helpful.

Here is the list of what he would like me to do:

Grass: base, plus 3 or 4 variations 

stone: base, plus 3 or 4 variations 
    dirt: base plus 3 or 4 variations 
    Snow (overlays for other tiles - transparent) 3 or 4 variants.
    water, plus edges, and inside and outside corners, plus directional "arrows"
    walls (straight vertical, straight horizontal, single section vertical and horizontal, +, corners for each directions, T for each direction.
    lava, plus edges, and inside and outside corners, plus directional "arrows"
    vegetation (various vines, trees and bushes, etc) (10)
    overlays (details, flowers, and plants, bones, and other random stuff that could work over the other types of ground as decoration)
    bridges
    wood planks
    pits (holes), plus edges, and inside and outside corners
    trap door
    teleporter
    tunnel entrance
    broken wall
    ruins (multi-tile)
    waterfall overlay (for water edges)
    spring
    goal tile (amazing gem / crystal)
    treasure

Thank you so much in advance!

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
That isn't an easy answer as it has to include a lot more info - info that you probably don't have yourself yet.

Check the classified offers for some base prices for tiles.

Then you have to think about how many edits you agree with your client - first if you can give him edits or if he wants completely original work, second how many changes and edits he can request after you finished the tiles.