How To Start A Game At A Certain Time

Carly

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
Hi! So, I'm very new to RPG Maker 2003, and don't know much about it. With that said, is there any way to start a playtest at a certain event, instead of at the very beginning? I'm planning on making a game with a playthrough time of a few hours, so I don't want to have to start a playtest from the very beginning just to see if I fixed a coding error. If there isn't any way to do this, is there any way to work around it?

Guiguimu

Walking Disaster
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I don't have a bright idea so these are only suggestions ^^''
You could always save before the event, like a area before, or change the starting point if possible (better if it is a cutscene you want to test).

AdamSakuru

[Null_Value]
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
You need to learn about labels, you will find them very handy!
http://blog.rpgmakerweb.com/tutorials/loops-and-labels/

Here's an example, halfway through the event, you put a label called "Test_Skipper". At the very beginning of the event if you use the "Jump to Label" command, it will jump to whatever label in that event page has the same name. Each label can only be used once, meaning you can't have two of the same label.

CleanWater

Independent Developer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
PT-BR
Primarily Uses
Other
Check my tutorials for beginners here in these forums. :wink:

2 - Creating Our First Map!

You can always set the starting place where you need to do the testings.

Cherry

RM2k(3) Developer (English Version)
Developer
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
@AdamSakuru I believe it was about a point in the play time, several hours into the game, not about jumping to a label in a single event script.