How To Start Quality Reviews? Can you Give Your Two Cents on this?

eluukkanen

Game Dev
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Finnish
Primarily Uses
N/A
Hello there people of rpg maker,

I have been part of this community for a long time, but now I do need your help. I do like making games, but as my profession I am a music freelancer composer, and now I am trying to break into region of music video reviews and articles.

Long time I have noticed that with just your own pair of eyes you cannot see all faults in what you do. That is why I come here to ask your help.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9dJqr1E-v0
Here is the Video Link

I made a first true music review about Civilization 6 soundtrack, and released it to test out the waters so-to speak. I do want to keep making these every month, and next time I release one of these I want it to be perfect. Tell me did you watch the video only half-way or full. Was it enjoyable? Did anything stick out as awful? Please share your harshest constructive critisisms :D

Poryg

Dark Lord of the Castle of Javascreeps
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Czech
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If that was supposed to be a review, then it failed horribly.
It's a 10 minutes long video, but the ONLY thing I learned from it was that civ uses real world music interpretations.
So, first of all, few seconds of each song as an illustration would be enough. You could in fact even pack in more nations if you shortened the lengths of each piece from 40 to 5-10 seconds. Also, if it's a review, it should contain more information relevant to the topic. While it's nice to know that civ 6 is a great game and that you'd want to have Finland in next civ, how is that in any way relevant to music? Especially when it was not brought in via natural flow of speech, but you just jumped into it.