How to use a script [XP]

Discussion in 'RGSSx Script Support' started by Gluttony, Jun 27, 2012.

1. Gluttony

Gluttony Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    This is probably one of the noobier questions that'll ever come along here, but please bear with me, as I've never used scripts or coded before and I honestly don't know what I'm doing:

A member in another topic here pointed me towards a script that seems to accomplish what I was trying to do in my game (create 2-handed weapons), but I don't know how to actually make use of the script now that I have it.

If anyone's willing to help, it's probably best to assume I don't know anything about scripting. Because I don't really.

The script itself is here: http://www.rmxpunlimited.net/forums/topic/7838-cursed-weapons-unequippable-script-for-rmxp/page__p__67404#entry67404. The three things I'm most concerned with are that it works, that I'm giving proper credit (I don't know if that's in the script somewhere or I have to manually put it somewhere myself), and that I'm only using the Two-handed weapons/gauntlets part of the script (if I understand correctly, the other features can be turned off so that I only use the parts I want).

Again, sorry for not knowing how to do all this...

2. Yato

Yato (aka Racheal) Veteran

Let's see if I can help.

-The first step with any script is it goes just above Main. I'm assuming you're not using any other scripts, so we don't have to worry about script order.

-For turning off unused features, there is a section in the script from lines ~123 to ~169. Make sure they are all set to false except the one you want.

-The script portion you're using starts at line ~846. There is one bug noted in that section, though it seems minor and visual.