How to use an item to trigger an event

IndigoSwift

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV

I want to make it so if you use a fishing rod, it will 'fish up' the hanging shield and be put into the character's inventory, and if possible figure out how to put animation on it! I'm new to MV and google isn't helping me out

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
How will you "use" the fishing rod? What is in the event?

You could either attach a common event to your fishing rod item, so it can be used from the menu. In the common event, you will use Control Variables to get the current map, player's X and Y coordinates and direction. Then you would check all of those to make sure the player is where they should be, and if all are correct, add the shield to inventory and remove from the map.

Or you could make your event use Select Key Item and make the fishing rod a key item. That would be less hassle than all the variable checks, but it would make it more obvious that the fishing rod is meant to be used here, especially if you don't have many items tagged as key items.

To animate the shield, you would need to remove it from the map and put it in an event instead. You'd have to make 4 frames, each with the shield in a different position and the rope a bit shorter. Take a look at the character sprites for the doors - see how each one is a little more open than the last (going down, not across)? You'd have to do it like that. Then to animate the shield being pulled up, make the event go through the same movement route as the doors in the quick event - turn left, wait 2 frames, turn right, wait 2 frames, turn up, wait 2 frames, turn on a switch which makes the event go to a new page without a sprite.

IndigoSwift

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV