I don't know what to charge for map commissions

Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I will soon be able to take commissions for maps (in fact, this all started because someone approached me out of the blue to ask about commissioning maps from me). However, I have no idea what to charge for the maps. I've asked different people for their opinions on what they feel like my maps are worth, I've looked through the Classifieds - Offers threads to see what other people do, and I've asked people who used to do freelancing for their advice.
I wanted to ask here in case anybody who has bought or sold commissioned maps might have some advice for me, because I've gotten so many different answers. I've never done commissions before, so this is all a completely new experience for me.
(Also, I apologize if this is in the wrong section, I wasn't sure where to put it but I figured General Lounge would be a safe bet.)

Dopan

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I think in such a case it doesnt depend on what a map is worth..it depends on how much time you have to spend.
Most jobs a payed per hour and no matter what kind of Art you do,it will take time and people will have to buy the time which you have to spend.
This approach doesnt Value the Thing which you create,it values the time you spend.
People who commission you, value Your Artwork by deciding to use Art that you create.
So the real Question should be:
"How much do you wanna get payed per hour?" and "how much time you want to gift free of charge if some artwork takes longer and you dont want to go over a "max prize for 1 map..?"

If you do this more often the experience will tell you how to handle this with better ways ,depending on the amount of Requests you get and the time you can spend ect.

Last edited:

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV