Rookie Dreamer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello guys!
I got to make a confession, I'm not that good at making levels/dungeons from the ground up, I usually take inspiration from an Song, an Enemy, kinda "Yeah, that song works perfectly in ______ level" or "Oh, that enemy would look amazing in a _______ dungeon"
Well, that's today's case! I recently found amazing music and a uncontrollable desire for drawing fish, turtles and another aquatic life!
Something i like to add to my dungeons is a Gimmick, like the classic Slide gimmick in Ice Dungeons, or Poison Floor in Poison Dungeons. But for an Underwater level.... My brain is just dry :(
I really don't have a clear way to put an Underwater level, besides an Oxigen Bar... And that sounds more annoying that anything.
So, let me ask you a question... What are your ideas for making an Aquatic Level!
I what to hear any idea, I'm sure all ideas can help me get some extra ispiration to make something fun and unique.
I hear yall!

gstv87

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
well, the biggest thing about underwater areas is buoyancy, which you can't really replicate in RM.
followed by light refraction, density (heavy objects sink, lightweight objects float), and the principle of communicating vessels (water level raises as air is let out of an underwater enclosure)

depending on the mechanics available to you, you could set up a puzzle involving pumping or draining water from a place.
or, using streams of water as conveyor belts, or just decorating the area with fancy light effects, underwater flora and sunken treasures.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
one thing that could be done is different flood levels that change the places that the player can reach - assuming of course that water is still a barrier.

Canini

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Swedish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA