Implementing Weapon/Armor Swaps In-Game?

Discussion in 'PVGames Resource Packs' started by PsychicToaster, Nov 4, 2018.

1. PsychicToaster

PsychicToaster Best Clairvoyant Appliance 2018 Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Howdy gang! I finally decided to put my nose to the grindstone and start working with the Medieval stuff to put together a game. I've managed to somehow work in the Character Creator without causing too much hassle really., it crashes occasionally but it's not a big deal to load a character back up that one has worked on.

I have been unsuccessful in finding any plugins that work to allow your sprites to change individual pieces of equipment out. The Visual Equipment plugin is long dead, and I'm by no means a serious coder for something along those lines. So my solution?

Well...look at the madness.

upload_2018-11-3_18-12-37.png

It's actually fairly fast to make my character sprite in the Character Creator, hit the arrow over for the "Main" slider, and export the spritesheet with the character holding that specific weapon, and presumably I can have RPG Maker MV change the actor's battlesheet(characters won't be holding weapons outside of combat) based on the weapon they are using. However, things get more complicated from here. These are all the one-handed weapons, without a shield. If I want to pair weapons with a shield, I'll have to make a separate sheet for each one of the combinations, which is fairly quick really. If I want to pair weapons with one another or more than one type of shield...well, you get the idea. Imagine how many images one would need if they were to also have armor and weapon pairings.