Aldath

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
Ok guys, I'm fairly new to RPG Maker, and for my first project I'm pretty much copying most of classic FF skills.

However, I'm stuck on replicating Death spells, as adding Knockout as a status just causes enemies to stop acting, that, and I would have to create a separate status to prevent boss battles from becoming eternal when making them immune to knockout states.

I'm VERY new to eventing, like, 0 skill on it besides making shops and "if > then", and I guess adding such a thing to the game will have to be made via events, and this could be a wonderful oportunity for me to see how I can add common events into skills, or at least that's what I think...

Any help and insight on how to design it would be wonderful!!!

Baerthe

Design Person
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
you want a skill that instantly kills something? Have you tried 9999999 damage?

Could you clarify, please?

Aldath

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
you want a skill that instantly kills something? Have you tried 9999999 damage?

Could you clarify, please?

A skill with a chance to make enemy or actor HP 0, making their state immediately KO, pretty much skills such as Doom or Odin's Zanktusken from Final Fantasy.

I thought about breaking the damage limit, but there doesn't seems to be a way to make that into a status, since placing that damage into a skill would make it impossible for me to make bosses immune.

Baerthe

Design Person
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Yeah should be easy. give me a minute to load up mv and try something...

EDIT: So make a new elemental type related to death effects. Make bosses immune to them.

Make a skill with the effect "Recover HP -100% + -99999", this will 100% kill anything. Then make its chance of working very very low.

@Aldath, Hows that?

Last edited by a moderator:

Aldath

Villager