Interview: Dark Gaia talks Indie Games, Writing and "Legionwood 2"

Discussion in 'General Lounge' started by C-C-C-Cashmere, Aug 16, 2013.

1. C-C-C-Cashmere

C-C-C-Cashmere Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    [​IMG]

As part of my interview series, I'm speaking to prominent developers/contributors in our RPG Maker Web community to gain insight on their inner workings. Today we speak to Dark Gaia, the creator of Legionwood: Tale of The Two Swords, Legionwood 2: Rise of the Eternals Realm, the One Night Trilogy, One Night 4 and others.

Thanks for agreeing to have this interview with us, Dark Gaia. Firstly, if you could tell us a bit about yourself.

Well, there's not too much to say. I'm a 21 year old author and indie game developer from Melbourne, Australia. I'm currently doing my final year of a BA in Creative Writing and Journalism, and my two favourite hobbies are writing and gaming -- hence why I'm drawn to RPG Maker :)

And at what age did you think that writing started to appeal to you?

Well, my memory's a bit foggy about that. The earliest I can remember is my fourth year of primary school (that'd be fourth grade for you US people), when I would often get in trouble because I'd just write stories instead of doing the set task. As I got older, I wrote more and more and towards the end of high school I finally decided I'd like to be serious about it, so I spent my first year of university racking up short story publications in magazines and journals, which culminated in my first novel being published at the end of last year.

As for video gaming, that's a love I can trace far more easily. I played my first video game (Super Mario Bros. 3 on the NES) when I was like 3 years old. From that point on, I was hooked -- I used to draw ideas for video games I'd like to design on pieces of paper. I'm still an avid gamer, but I'm somewhat disenchanted by modern gaming. I don't own any of the current gen consoles. :)