Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hi, I'm quite new to scripting, I was implementing this feature that lets the player modify battle BGs generation via settings (the swirl that generates for when you choose no battle pictures) and I've noticed that RPG maker doesn't draw any events onto the BG's whatsoever. Is there any way I could change that and make it so it'd draw all present events onto the battle BG? If possible I'd also like it to not draw event000 which is the player.

As far as I know, RPG maker considers tilesets, parallax and pictures as single bitmaps, but each event is an own bitmap, would I need to change that too?

Here are some images illustrating the issue, please excuse the placeholder graphics.
1629496502229.png
1629496529096.png

Thank you for reading.

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Maps and Battles use different scenes. Maps have a parallax, a tileset and tile layers, events and event sprites. Battles have a battleback, battle sprites and animations, and a UI. These are not shared.

One thing that both can have is weather, but again they are not shared. The map has its weather, and the battle scene has its weather. They are two different objects.

Events are also grid-based - they sit on a specific map tile, they move between map tiles, their collision area is a map tile. Battle screens have no grid/tiles.

If you want to have events in battles, you would have to duplicate all the event logic, catering for functions that no longer make any sense because there is no grid.

Most people just go the other way, and have battles take place on the map itself.

Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Maps and Battles use different scenes. Maps have a parallax, a tileset and tile layers, events and event sprites. Battles have a battleback, battle sprites and animations, and a UI. These are not shared.