Is Rpg maker the best choice to make a turn based tactical RPG ?

Chorizosss

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
Other
Hello,

I'm not good at programming and i'm wondering if an rpg maker ( MV, MZ or else ) is the best choice to make a turn based Tactical rpg (such as Divinity Original Sin , Wasteland 2 or Fallout 2).

In fact,some years ago, i put alot of work on a unity 3D project with some friends and unfortunatly the life splited our little group. So i tried to continue alone and it turns out i'm realy not good enough on programming so after several month trying i gave up.

I worked several years as graphist/designer in the video game industry and cinema so i can handle the design part but not the programming part. I'm realy not good enough at it.

So i thought about RPG Maker because it don't need programing ! Well... exept for the combat system i want as it doesn't come with the engine.

So, as you are RPG Maker fans, do you think it's doable ? Keep in mind that in the worst case i can pay someone to make a little part of programming for me but it must stay a little part. Do you think the engine can handle it and make something neat ?

TheoAllen

Self-proclaimed jack of all trades
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
So, as you are RPG Maker fans, do you think it's doable? Keep in mind that in the worst case i can pay someone to make a little part of programming for me but it must stay a little part. Do you think the engine can handle it and make something neat?
Doable? Can the engine handle it? yes.
Feasible? I'm not sure. It may require a lot of work depends on your requirement.

Please keep in mind that while the engine can be turned into any game you want, the editor is built for RPG with all the pre-programmed functions. Without knowing the engine in its default state, you might find it hard to do.

Chorizosss

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
Other