Issues understanding events interacting with each other in cutscenes (moving npc characters)

Castoa

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello, I'm rather new to RPG Maker and before I really started on a project, I wanted to make sure I understood the basics of what I'd want to do in a game. Currently I'm testing cutscenes, but I'm running into some issues. The way I've set it up is so that when the player character steps on an event square (event A), my NPC character event (event B ) will start up. I've gotten this to work to an extent, but I have a feeling that something I'm doing is wrong, not to mention that every time event B plays, my player character disappears.

Attached are screenshots of my events. The second pages of both events are empty. I'm pretty sure my issue is something small or stupid, but it's really annoying that I can't figure out what it is.

(My reasoning here is I'd like to be able to have multiple characters moving at once, hence why I'd prefer to have separate events for each character's actions, though maybe it'd be easier to have the entire cutscene in one event, I'm not entirely sure...)

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    91.1 KB · Views: 4
  • Capture2.PNG
    Capture2.PNG
    98.3 KB · Views: 4

Danitinkis

Deadly and sexy
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If I remember correctly, the Transparency ON makes the character invisible, while if it's off, it's visible

bgillisp

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
First thing, never have separate events for each character. Those are a nightmare to debug. What you should do instead is create an event which controls all of the characters in a cutscene, using the set move route to move the events you want to move.