JS: Finding what event is within an area in front of the player's x/y (shotgun map effect)

Philsco

Flipped Out RPG2Knet.com vet
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hey there! I've tried searching but can't seem to find the right way to phrase it to get the information I need, so I hope this isn't something common that I have just failed miserably at searching for X_x

Anyway, I have a common event that is called by a keypress which uses a skill (ABS-style combat). I want it to scan for events which have the <enemy> meta tag in their note field in a certain range (a cone in front of the player based on the direction they are facing). When this happens, and if it finds an enemy in the AoE, I want it to turn the Self Switch "A" on for the events that are within that AoE cone's coverage.

I'm having a hard time figuring this out since I'm pretty new to this. I remember figuring out how to do this in RM2k3 way back in the day, but that was by making variables for and then updating every enemy's event's X/Y on a parallel process and calling a common event via [Password Input] to have an area based on the map x/y and player x/y and their facing direction, and using a ridiculous amount of conditional branches to check it all and to go to different labels to execute other direction checks X_x I'm willing to do that if I have to, but I would rather use this as a learning experience to help further my understanding of Javascript in this game.

Any help or even just a snide "just read this article" reference would be greatly appreciated! Thank you for your time, and also...hi! Haven't posted on an RPG Maker forum seriously since...well....near the turn of the century? RPG2Knet.com was my last real RPG Maker attempt. Played with VX for a minute, but then, y'know, work...life...... But now work is on a regular schedule, and I'd like to give this an earnest shot, again!

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV