JS Plugins beginner

Charles2020

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I am a python developer but just started JS to develop JS plugin. Is there a good basic tutorial video that can help familiar with RMMV code and structure before developing plugin ?

Thanks

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV

I've moved this thread to Learning Javascript. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

JS by itself is a simple language, easy to understand and get used to, especially if you're already a coder and have knowledge about programming in general. I assume you know all the basic stuff like what are strings, arrays, conditionals, loops, inheritance, etc. You can do a quick course on w3schools. Here's the link:

That should be quick. After that, the real "hard" part is actually learning the RPG Maker MV engine's framework. For that maybe a more practical tutorial would help, for example someone showing how to code a menu in RPG Maker. But basically, RPG Maker is formed by a couple of main objects from which all other objects are derived:
  • Window_Base: it's the parent object of all window objects in the engine.
  • Sprite_Base: It's the parent object of all sprite objects in the engine.
  • Scene_Base: It's the parent object of all scenes in the engine.
  • Graphics: Handles the graphics.
  • AudioManager: Handles all the audio.
  • ImageManager: Handles all the loading of images into ram.
  • SceneManager: Controls the displayed scene on the screen (you basically push scene objects inside it).
  • Input: Manages all the inputs.
  • etc.
I listed a couple, but once you get a hang of the general logic of the engine it's really easy to just open the core code and understand how it works.

Hope that helps.

ozubon

surströmming?
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV