Almighty God Jabu
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello there!

To be clear, this topic isn’t directed to English staff we got here, admins, mods, translators, none of them are to fault here. They did a wonderful job and created a very awesome community around. I love all of you, guys. This one is directed to the ones who made the software and only to them. But obviously, is open to everyone read and answer.

Intro(duction)

There’s a lot of other rants all over the internet, most of them are right, some are exaggerated and a few are totally off by a wide margin. But then, there’s mine, it's up to you to judge where it sits. I’ve been using this software series for 15 years already, already reviewed past edition for a game making e-magazine. I even wrote an entire review for MZ that is done for ages, but never found the motivation to publish it in that e-mag again.

And if the franchise doesn’t change in direction, well, that will be the last one I will buy and will stop recommending newer versions altogether, completely.

It’s a bit sad, I’ve been using RPG Maker MZ for quite a while, bought it so happy initially, and I’ve been writing a lot of code, but I can’t help myself but die inside a little each time I need to open the editor. We all know, the scenery changed, and RPG Maker kinda of were left behind. I’m not talking about raytraced 3D ultra-advanced graphics; I’m talking about simple QoL and (possibility of) customization of the game from the editor. Simple stuff that makes a huge difference. It can keep doing 2D RPGs like it does forever and wouldn’t be happier if not the reasons I will list here.