Kickstarter, *******, and seeking financial help.

Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hope this doesn't class as a double post, I'm gonna be so annoyed if I get the blue words of death lol.
Anyway, this is sort of a follow up question from my previous commercial post since I thought it would be better to separate the questions. So in terms of cost, my game isn't going to be cheap, custom busts, sprites, music, menu, you name it, and the majority of these costs will come from myself. However, unless I want to delay my games release by several years whilst I put all the money together, I will probably at some point need to ask for financial help whether it be from Kickstarter, *******, playing my violin on a street corner....but since I've never done it before, I'm just asking for some advice on:
1. How to go about it without making people think I'm just been lazy and asking for hand me downs?
2. When is the appropriate time to start a *******, kickstarter. How much of your game should realistically be done before you go down that street?
3. How do you go about offering rewards for pledges from the public?

bgillisp

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
For some reason the thread posted 2x. We consolidated it for you. As to what you are asking.

Have you finished a game yet? If not it will be harder to get support, as no one will know if you can complete a game and they will be more skeptical. I'd suggest maybe completing a couple games so you can show them and say "Here is what I can do, now support me."

Otherwise...