Status
Not open for further replies.

Dachimotsu

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Attached is an image showing what issues I'm having and the settings I'm using.

My game uses taller, sometimes wider sprites. Pictured is a character who is 2.5 tiles tall (hat included). Also pictured is that very hat going through the top of a nearby couch, and his body hiding under some sheets. Many people have complained about this bug, and it is generally believed that it's caused by having too many "star passability" tiles in one place.

On the left side of the image, you will see the settings for CP_Large_Sprite_Fix, a plugin included with the program that's supposed to fix this issue by tagging the star tiles with a terrain tag of 7 in the tileset editor (see top-right of the image). While this does seem to fix some of the tiles, it does not fix all of them.

Now, I am not a programmer, but I will do my best to describe how I think this issue can be easily solved.

Basically, it uses the same concept as the Large Sprite Fix plugin, only instead of having one terrain tag, you'll have two.

The first will make its respective tile always appear above the entire sprite (used for bridges or tree leaves in the foreground).

The second will make its respective tile only appear above the sprite if the sprite's "anchor" (bottom-centermost point) is IN the same ROW as the tile itself OR higher.

If this plugin could be edited or re-made to do exactly as I've described, by giving the developer total control over the way each star tile works, I believe it should bypass this issue entirely.

Star Pass.png

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Are you sure you have the latest and greatest version?  The original plugin did have a couple of bugs, which I fixed and tested thoroughly.  I don't believe this issue should happen with the current version.