Learning a Skill from an Item

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by Caner, Jan 24, 2018.

1. Caner

Caner Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hello,

This is a rather complicated task for me as I am not that good at js and I tend to do things the hard way.

I’m developing a game in which the party collects stone tablets. Party members can learn skills by using these tablets. That is easy but...

I would like a member to be able to learn the skill if s/he is the required level or class.

e.g. Connor finds the tablet Stun. He can learn the Stun skill by using the tablet. Stun skill is a level 4 skill. Conner is level 4. So I can use tablet on Connor and he can learn the skill.

However, there is another party member, Leon. Leon is level 2. When I want to use the tablet on Leon, he cannot learn the skill and I would like to see a message that says “Leon needs to be Level 4 to learn Stun.”

How do I use variables or conditionals on items. I did it some way using a common event but then I cannot the specify the actor.

Can you help me?

2. Kes

Kes Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    'Game Mechanics Design' is for looking at aspects of gameplay at a more conceptual level. "How do I...?" (implementation) questions go in the Support forum for the engine you are using.

I've moved this thread to RPGMaker MV. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

First you have to identify who the target for the item is.
    Make the item place a "target state" on the actor using it and then call a common event.
    In the common event, use conditional branches to check which actor has the "target state" to identify the item user. In the case of the wrong user that might be "show text: you can't use this".