Learning to make own resources

Lt. Ulquiorra

The Devil's Advocate
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Filipino
Hi! I plan to make games once MV is released (obviously :p ) and I want to learn how to make my own resources (music, spritesets, portraits, and facesets, maybe backgrounds). Where do I start? I have some background on drawing if that helps, I used to draw manga-style. Also, what programs should I use? (No paid please. I plan to get photoshop, but that won't be in a few more months.) Thanks!

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
The help file will give you the resource specifications (how many pixels and which formats to use), and usually you can export the default resources as guides and basis for edits (don't know how that will work in MV yet, but probably over the resource manager as well).

Then you can use any program to edit the pictures as you want, it only has to support transparency (and layer support would help in the working process).

People who can't afford photoshop often use GIMP, paint.net or special tablet software (pleas no MS Paint, it doesn't support transparency).

For audio there is a free program called audacity that is used even by professionals (there are more powerfull programs of course, but those aren't free)

After that, it depends on your talent and creativity...

Sharm

Pixel Tile Artist
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
I've moved this thread to Art, Literature, and Music. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

To be honest I don't know if this is the best place for this question either, but the resource section is for sharing resources, not talking about how to make them.  I think General Discussion would have worked too.  Possibly Program and Utility discussion, though what your asking about is a little broader in scope than just what program to use.