Teach

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Hello.

I'm fairly new to RPGMaker. Though I've managed to make some progress so far. The regular stuff I'm mostly able to get without trouble through the Youtube tutorials. But there's a couple of...Irregular features I'd like to implement.

One is I want to have a system in place where you learn Traits via level-up instead of Skills. (The skills you learn via AP gain in battle. I've managed to find a couple of plugins for that). Think Mario and Luigi's "Rank" system. You reach a certain level and you choose which trait to learn.

Attack + 20%
Defense + 20%
Magic Attack + 20%
Magic Defense + 20%
Speed + 20%

And once you chose a trait, that trait gets eliminated so that you can't choose it again the next time you level up:

Attack + 20%
Defense + 20%
Magic Attack + 20%
Magic Defense + 20%
Speed + 20%

How would I implement this? Do I need to do some fancy footwork with common events? Do I need a plugin? What should I do?

ATT_Turan

Forewarner of the Black Wind
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I would use a plugin to have passive states. You would then be actually learning a skill that grants a passive state with the desired trait on it.

There are also plugins that allow you to have dynamic traits, I just think it will be easier to come up with an interface for choosing a skill than to create one that results in the application/modification of traits. For example, there are various skill tree plugins available.

Teach

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Sounds like a good idea. Where would be a good place to get said plugins?

coyotecraft

Mythographer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
This is tricky. It's similar...no, exactly, like the problem of changing a character's elemental attack attribute.