Lights, Lighting, Dark, and Darkness (ACE)

Discussion in 'RGSSx Script Support' started by JLeeT82, Aug 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JLeeT82

JLeeT82 Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Since this is my first post, please bear with me. It seemed like this was the best place to ask about this. If I am wrong please let me know. All I ask for is some assistance.

So I've gone through many tutorials for the ACE editor, and I'm starting on my project (maybe a little too ambitious) and I noticed/realized that in the editor there is no real direct control over lighting conditions outside of a screen tint. Now I've done some digging around and I know there are scripts for this kind of thing, but scripting is something I don't have a lot of experience in (I am a Game Design & Game Art double major graduate). I have some programming knowledge and experience but nothing close to "ceritifed."

Is there any straightforward (non-scripting) way to manipulate this outside of tinting the screen? Using this doesn't really "work" in the sense that it covers up all lighting effects since it's a "camera lense" affect. Outside of putting the shader pen to work on maps manually and only using stationary light sources (lamps/torches, anything affixed to a surface).

So far in my reasearch I am really surprised to see that this editor really has everything you'd want.......except a straight forward lighting manipulation system. The project I am making will require me to utilize darkness and a lack of light in many different scenarios (kind of like "Sweet Home" meets "Earthbound" is what I am going for).