Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Introduction

Limit Breaker is my first plugin ever, and was originally a small thing to help me learn Javascript and MZ's functions as well as how to actually MAKE a plugin. While I have a bit of a programming background, I'd never dabbled in Javascript before. It was originally supposed to break the TP limit, but as I studied more of the base scripts I found more and more hard-coded stuff that a developer might wish to be able to customize.

What It Does

Simply put, it takes various limits and functions that are hard-coded into the base scripts and allows a developer to customize them. From changing the TP limit, to having a custom number of save slots, to even changing how reviving works!

Why I Made It

While working on my own project, I wanted something done that didn't seem possible in the base game, and I couldn't find any plugin that would easily meet my needs. So I decided I should make that plugin myself. This plugin has nothing to do with that, but since I knew next to nothing about making my own plugin, something like this was a logical place to start. And the more I worked on it, the more interested I got in seeing just what I could change.

Also, I know that the limits in the base code tend to be bypassed with various plugins that deal with related stuff, but they ONLY deal with the related limits. This one is intended to not only bypass every limit I can find, but also let a developer set their own limits, in case someone wants to limit, say, max gold without eventing or scripting. This could also be very useful to someone who doesn't have or want to use a bunch of plugins to do this, or the plugins they're using don't allow for easy customization, or maybe just wants to see how stuff not in the default editor can be changed.