Larry Jones

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Hallo there,

I am interested in making a game in RPG Maker VX Ace. My interests are really in storytelling, humour and platforming.

I guess where I have fallen down in the past in my attempts to create games on this platform is the fact that, frankly, I have very little knowledge of, or interest in, RPG games! I never played any of the famous RPG games, and whilst I probably have played at least one game resembling an RPG at some point, I never really understood the mechanics very well or how you would 'put together' / design a game of that nature.

One solution to this would be to brush up on the genre and learn about it, but I thought a better approach for me might be to use RPG Maker to make a game that focuses on what I'm already interested in.

The question for me, then, is this. How do I then actually make that interesting to play? Do you guys have any advice for me and do you think I could make a game that focuses on something different to the norm and still make it interesting? What elements would you want to see in a game that's forged in that path?

Cheers guys!

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It sounds to me like what you are wanting to make is a Visual Novel, from my limited knowledge of that genre. You might search for topics on them, or what and see what others have to say. At the end of the day, I say make the game you want to make. If you feel you need more gameplay, but don't want battles and such, you can always do a variety of puzzles. But yeah, I'd research Visual Novels.

Larry Jones

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score