RMMV Looking for feedback concerning old-school-ish city management strategy game

HumanNinjaToo

The Cheerful Pessimist
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Firstly, I've decided to put my main game project on hold for now (getting a bit burned out TBH).

So I am planning to start work on another idea I've been kicking around for several months. The game concept is a city-builder/city-manager/strategy type of game. I'd say my inspiration comes from playing strategy games like Romance of the 3 Kingdoms, Genghis Khan, Nobunaga's Ambition, and Ogre Battle.

What I'd like to do is have a town under the players control. You would be able to manage the elements by walking around the town and interacting with buildings and NPCs that control certain growth aspects. After thinking on this for a while, I decided my idea was similar to the city building that you do in Ni No Kuni 2: there are plots of land where you can open up new buildings/shops and then upgrade those locations based on progress and meeting other requirements.

I would like to give the player control of city resource management such as: food, trading goods to make money, training and outfitting troops, building up city defenses against both natural disaster and enemy invasion, and diplomacy with other city-states. My plan is to give the player some direct control over these areas, while also letting the player delegate an officer to manage some of the more long-term aspects.

There will be a tactical battle system.

I am primarily looking for feedback on what elements people like or dislike about these types of strategy games. I'm a huge fan of these games but there are some parts that bug me and seem tedious at times, so I would appreciate some outside perspective.