Looking For Tileset Art Guide/Tutorial

Dalhan

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Sorry if this isn't in the right section. Since it's half and half I'm taking a gamble posting this in the requests section (since it technically is).

Hi! I'm looking for a guide or tutorial on how to create VXA / MV style pixel art graphics for tiles, auto tiles and props. I've noticed that the way they are designed/created differs significantly from more traditional pixel-art / retro graphics of the 16x16 and 32x32 types. It appears to me that many of these newer assets are larger designs shrunk down to fit the VXA/MV tileset? For example, some wood textures may have over 15 colours where as most traditional art may only have as many as 7, commonly 5. I'm not entirely sure on the techniques use, so a guide would be awesome!

As a of note, I'm after a guide to learn how to create my own artwork. I'm a decent artist and have worked with pixelart for about two years now, so I don't need guides on that. I do remember ages ago seeing a guide on Deviantart but for the life of my can't find it!

Thanks in advance! :)

Sharm

Pixel Tile Artist
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Gonna move this to Art Literature and Music for you.