Kitesis

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I hope I've put this in the right spot. Sorry, I'm pretty new to these forums.
So basically, I'm having event trouble.
In my game the protagonist and the party go to talk to an npc. The npc tells them something, and they go to a different area. In this area a cutscene needs to happen, but the problem is that the player can walk into this area before they talk to the npc.
Is there anyway to make the cutscene only happen after the player talks to the npc? Or is there anyway to block off the area with an event before they talk to the npc?
I'm very new to rpg maker, but I have a basic understanding of switches. I don't know too much about variables. Thank you!
(I'm using VX ace)

bgillisp

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
You need variables to do this well. I'd suggest going to the tutorial in my signature and work through all of them. It will take about a month. Once you do that, you should be comfortable enough with switches and variables to do this scene.

GreyStone84

Sic Gorgiamus Allos Subjectatus Nunc
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
You can do this with variables, switches and/or events. It depends on how you'd like the flow of your game to go. I suggest looking through tutorials because they could help with many other ideas you come up with or help to solve other problems you encounter. They are a great way to learn.

That being said, if you want it simply done, this is how I set one up using only switches and events.
I placed an event to block the path. I made it "Same as Character" and activated by "Player Touch". I also made the event a "Parallel Process".
I created a second page that was blank and was activated when "Self Switch A" was on.