Map sizes, best practices? (MV in specific)

Edgre

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Ok, looking through the manual, it appears that the play screen has a resolution of 816x624 or 17x13 tiles. Is there a general best practice for how big to make maps? When I started doing some sketches for designing maps on my lunch hour, I just naturally used the size of my graph paper. Then when I started making the maps in game, I set them to the size of my paper, because that was convenient. Now, I'm just making some started sample games to get the hang of it, so this isn't critical. On the other hand, I know habits you pick up can tend to stick. So, I figured maybe there was a general rule of thumb that people might adhere to for good gameplay or performance reasons as to the size of maps, etc. I figured I might as well ask now, as I'm just getting started so I can try to develop good habits.

Most importantly, are there limits I need to keep in mind as I embark on development that might not be obvious now, as I try some small projects that if I were more conscientious from the beginning could avoid me trouble when I graduate to larger projects?

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Big enough? Really, a map is first and foremost there to a serve specific purpose. Whether that's a means to get from place A to place B; an area to do business such as buying/selling, sleeping in an inn, etc; a place to gather information; a place to play a minigame. So, you would need to think about that map's intended purpose first. Then you would need to think about the things you would need to serve that purpose. Once you've done that, lay those things out in a reasonable manner - you don't want a town map with 20 spaces between the inn, the shops, etc., because then your player would be needlessly spending a lot of time walking.