Cosmic Architect

Architect of Worlds
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
(I thought this would have been asked before, so I did try to search for it, but I didn't find a discussion on this. If I'm wrong, please link me to the post and feel free to delete this thread, thank you. '^^)

I have a rather large map in my game(a town) that is often accessed by the player to get from place to place. You could call it an "over world" of sorts. There are passive events running animations here and there throughout the map I'm not done with it, and I've already noticed that it's laggy. Poor design choice on my part, but I started on it when I was a pretty new designer.

The two answers that come to mind would be to re-do the map in smaller pieces, or to add an event that would keep track of where the player was, and turn on/off events in overlapping sections so they'd no longer all be running constantly(this might cause issues with forced event cut-scenes...).
I'm wondering if my idea of overlapping event areas would work, because that is what I'd prefer, if it's possible. Any other solutions are quite welcome!

If you need to see the game to know what I'm talking about, a somewhat old version can be found here- www.indiedb.com/games/way-of-the-magi (most of my changes have been on the underlying systems, so it shouldn't be an issue that it's old)

Thank you in advance! I again apologize if I missed a threat about this. '^^

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
The first step here is to clear up a misconception on your part:

There is no singular "lag" of any kind, lag is always the result of several things that block CPU power adding together. And therefore there is no single solution, but you need to identify each source of lag and then think on how to remove that part.