MMO Engine for RPG Maker MV made with socket.io

MadCorvo

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses

Hello guys! I'm here to announce that im developing a free and open MMO plugin for rpg maker MV. I'm a nodejs developer with backend javascript knowledge but little to no knowledge of the RPG Maker MV plugin architecture. So far, I've been able to make the game comunicate to a server and send coordinates using socket.io lib. I'd like to invite any experienced plugin developer to pair with me to boost up the dev speed of this plugin. I've been struggling with simple things like: render sprites via script and etc.  If you would like to contribute, write here on the topic or PM me so we can talk further.

here are some screenshots of it working:

rpg1.png

rpg2.png

mpurnell

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
my server knowledge or networking knowledge is in no way going to help you, but I just wanted to say good job. there is another one that is out that allows RPG maker work on a server, but since I'm at work I cant grab the link for you to maybe have a suss at that one

Tyrael79

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
If you get this going, it will be awesome! I would really like to use this plugin!

Nelderson

Coding cute
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I actually got to the point of creating a basic passive MMO experience with Socket.io...my problem has been implementing (Time wise :p )  a login system.

I threw it up on a static express server here if you guys want to check it out.  Some things to note about my system:

1.  It's passive.  What I mean is that each player has the same game experience.  The MMO is more social in nature.  For instance if there is a chest on the screen and you open it, it will not open on the other player's screens.  This can be coded in, but for now it's passive