Reaction score
First Language
Bengali
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
sorry, total noob here. I have a question. can I have multiple tilesets in the same map, perhaps by layers or areas? if yes how do I do it. Also how to as separate specific areas

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
No. One map, one tileset.

A tileset consists of 5 A tiles of different sizes and purposes, and 4 B-E tiles. You can create new tileset images and copy/paste what you want from others to combine them in new ways. If you want to do this, read up in the help file on the layouts and sizes, and I suggest you copy some of the RTP ones to new names and start with those, removing any tiles you don't want for that map / group of maps.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
no, one tileset for one map.

however the trick is to make different tilesets for different maps - changing the tiles available to fit the theme of the map.

Reaction score
First Language
Bengali
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Thanks for your hints. I know it is most probably a stupid question, thanks for the help.

SigmaSuccour

Dogmatic
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Urdu, English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
While generally 'no'. You can work around it using the 'change tileset' event command.
You can have one section of the map use one tileset, and another section of map using a different tileset.
And have a sort of 'bridge area' between the two areas. This 'bridge area' has the same tiles for each tileset. So you can have the tilesets switch in this area as the player goes from one end of the map to another.

I hope this makes some sense.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
But how do I separate these regions?
not exactly.