MV : How to make player have to select item in menu in order to use it?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by Kacribus, Mar 11, 2018.

1. Kacribus

Kacribus Metal Dinosaur Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    RPG Maker MV specific : How do I make a player have to select an item in their menu in order to use it or apply it to the item or subject in front of them? I can't find a video on it either.

Elaboration : The player picks up an enchanted harp. They encounter a character looking for the enchanted harp. Th player has to open their menu and select the harp in order to give it to the player.

2. Doktor_Q

Doktor_Q I'm not a real doktor, but I am a real Q Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    One of your event commands is "select item," on the first page under the "message" heading. This will bring up a list of the player's items, and have them pick one. It puts the ID of the item they select in the variable you specify- if they pick your harp, which is item ID 13, then it'll store "13" in the variable.

On the next line, you can put a condition that "if (the variable you're using) = 13" then they showed the guy the harp. If it's any other value, they tried to show him something that isn't the harp.

3. Solis

Solis Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    You could use the item, make it not "vanish on use", activate a variable. Have NPC check for said variable in if condition statement. If variable is +1 (or switch) , harp was used.

Kacribus likes this.
  4. Dreadshadow

Dreadshadow Lv 38 Tech Magician Moderator

First Language:
    Greek
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    You can approach this with two ways.