[GothicVoid]
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Simple Radius effect Dimming Flashlight and Batteries

So some will find this trivial, but thought I'd post to help out the newer members. I'm a novice myself with eventing but this works, so if you see something that might work nicer and cleaner... please feel free to add in some screenshots to show the rest of the class!

For this project I'm simply using Galv's Visrange plugin for MV get it ----> HERE
Once you have it installed and have read over the help files, we are ready to begin *cracks knuckles*

First thing you need is a common event that when the player "uses" the flashlight (or Torch as I have it) item the system knows what to do with it. Inside the Common event we are going to set up some variables to set. So lets set those up! Follow along with the image that i have inserted. I have it numbered and highlighted.
fig 1
Screenshot 2020-10-16 101331.png
1) go to any event window and select Control Variables. When you click it it will open the window you see for step 2.
2) Select the populate box to bring up the window in step 3.
3) Name your variables.... make sure you remember which is named which because you may need to call on the data that will be stored on these numbers later. In this case i used 3=Zoom, 4=Opacity, and 5=Battery Life

Now that you have your variables named you can use them to start setting some initial data for the system to pull when the player uses the Torch. Make sure you have made both the Torch and the Batteries in the item section of the Database.

The torch will look like this
Screenshot 2020-10-16 095114.png
NOTE: My Occasion says always because I have a custom menu that pops up outside the default main menu. You will want that to be set to Menu Scene unless you have a custom menu system.
The batteries... Like this
Screenshot 2020-10-16 102529.png

The scope on both are not really all that important so don't worry about that part.