MV Tutorial Doesn't work on Linux(Steam)

Discussion in 'Tech Support-All Makers' started by Forleafe, Jul 14, 2019.

1. Forleafe

Forleafe Faerie Queen Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Running this via Steam on Ubuntu 18.04 (Fresh install of RPG Maker MV)

Clicking the tutorial button, selecting a tutorial, then clicking start freezes the program for a moment before doing nothing and throwing some errors in the console:

file:///media/bryan/aria/Games/Steam/steamapps/common/RPG Maker MV/qml/QtQuick/Controls/Private/MenuContentItem.qml:178: ReferenceError: Acccessible is not defined
    QString::arg: Argument missing: "Here is Tilesets, so click it.", Tilesets

Any help in resolving this would be deeply appreciated, as this is my first time using this program, and so far this isn't inspiring much confidence.

2. Andar

Andar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    You'll have to wait for someone familiar with Linux for that specific error, but in the meantime you can use the other tutorials.
    Those tutorials in the editor didn't even exist in the first several editor versions (1.0, 1.1, 1.2), and the use of the MV editor is absolutely identical to using the VX Ace editor, so you can simply check any of the (free) Ace tutorials around this forum or the internet.

As long as you stay away from the advanced scripting options (Ace uses RGSS3, MV uses Javascript and those are absolutely incompatible), every event command and everything about the editor is identical (only minor cosmetic differences like Ace having horizontal tabs on top of the database, MV having a vertical list to the left of the database).

You can start with the "starting point for new users" in my signature to get to most of the old tutorials.

3. djDarkX

djDarkX Retro & Remastered Music Guru Veteran

First Language:
    Music
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV